Sweet Region


Sweet Region brings together five groups of dancers, choreographers and artists from across Regional Victoria to create five new, dance-based works for a special one-night performance at the Arts Centre’s Black Box.

Under the mentorship of Creative Producer Natalie Cursio, each group has responded to Next Wave’s Festival theme to create an engaging new work, which speaks to their situation as both artists living and working in Regional communities, and emerging innovators in the field of dance. The resulting works include a series of innovative collaborations which fuse dance with film, animation and sound composition. Hailing from Bendigo, Geelong, Mildura and Warrnambool, the artists’ influences, practices and movement styles are diverse, carving out their own sense of people and place. After presentation at the 2008 Next Wave Festival, Sweet Region will tour to Bendigo, Geelong, Warrnambool and Mildura, to be showcased in the artists’ own communities.

Click here to download the Sweet Region flyer.


Megan Beckwith, Kim Chalmers, Tom Halls, Morgan Healy, Sally Hederics, Seung Hi Lee, Daniel Newell, Jinaya Simpson, Rochelle Walshe, Stephen Walters.

Mentor/Creative Producer: Natalie Cursio

[ Read more about the artist/s ]

[ Additional information ]


[in alphabetical order]

Arts Centre
Australia Council
Helen MacPhearson
Regional Arts VIC